top of page

Coach of the Year


Beginning in 1969, the PWCA has been honoring coaches who have demonstrated  the highest level of commitment to wrestling. In the 51 years of the award, there have been a total of 108 coaches named Coach of the Year. The 2020 PWCA Coaches of the Year received their awards on Saturday, March 7, 2020 at the Giant Center in Hershey. For a list of all the previous winners, visit the Coach of the Year Archive page. To learn more about the selection process or to nominate a coach, check out the information below.

Photo Credit: Tom Elling
Photo Credit: Tom Elling
Selection process



A coach must be a member of the PWCA. He must receive the votes for District Coach of the Year in his respective district. A coach may be nominated as an "at large nominee" if extenuating circumstances exist. For example, if he did not receive the District Coach of Year, but has had a strong team showing in sectionals, districts, regionals, and states. The nomination can then be placed on the floor at the PWCA board meeting the Thursday evening at States. He must then receive a majority vote to be considered for the PWCA Coach of the Year Award.


Once a coach receives his respective District Coach of the Year Award, he will be provided the PWCA Coach of Year Application. The completed application should be forwarded to the PWCA President.


A booklet of all respective District Coach of the Year nominees will be compiled. The booklet is distributed to all PWCA officers and district presidents at the PIAA Wrestling Championships. The deadline for ballots is no later than the completion of the semi-final round for each classification.

Chad Shirk

Class AA

The Class of AA Coach of the Year is Chad Shirk of Saucon Valley (left) with presenter Pat Berzonski (right).


Brian Nasdeo

Class AAA

The Class of AAA Coach of the Year is Brian Nasdeo of Williamsport (left) with presenter Bob Crabb (right).

bottom of page